Where I Am

Greetings and salutations, and welcome to Chels on the Shelf.
giphy

I am a writer, and yet words very often fail me. I have wanted for so long to create a blog and write my personal stories and feelings, share my writing and express my love for books and the written word. And I have tried multiple times. I had a few posts, but then I would find myself at a loss. I would try to write, but I didn’t know how to express my personal views and feelings in a way that would be at least somewhat interesting. And I never felt that I had a place among the many, many blogs out there in the wild world of the Internet.

So why am I trying it again? Maybe it’s because I still have—will always have—that burning desire to write, and I am slowly gaining the confidence to just go ahead and do it. Maybe some part of me hopes that I will eventually say something that will create change, or that will at least touch just one person’s mind and heart. Maybe I’m still just caught up in the new year (despite being almost 4 months in), in the idea of starting fresh. I can’t exactly offer an explanation. All I know is that this is my new venture, and I am going to be working very hard to improve my writing and share my thoughts here.

For anyone wondering, those thoughts and my writing could be about almost anything. Books. Movies. Books turned into movies. The not-so-well-known-but-incredibly-wonderful singers and bands who have been a part of my life for years, in some cases. My concert experiences. My own stories and the characters I’m creating. My feelings on the world and what goes on in it. General thoughts on life. You name it, I might find the need to write about it.

I don’t expect to have a lot of readers. I don’t even expect to have some earth-shattering, powerful idea. I will simply share what comes to my mind. I want to write what I feel, what I think, what I see, because that is how I make sense of things. If it helps just one person to make sense of something, or to just nod at their screen and say “Same”, then I’ve done something right.

Welcome to Chels on the Shelf. Welcome to a reader, writer, and all-around fangirl’s wild and wonderful world. Let’s be friends.

-Chelsy

Instagram

Twitter

Tumblr

Goodreads

Pinterest

 

*gif credit

Leave a Reply

